Mingle Media Covers the NAACP Theatre Awards Nomination Press Conference

We were so excited to be invited to come out and cover the early morning event to help support the NAACP Theatre Award Nominees!!

This morning our correspondent, Jamaal Murray spoke with Kim Coles and Tia Boyd on the red carpet about the upcoming ceremony in August.

Be sure to mark your calendar! The 2010 NAACP Theatre Awards will be held at the Director’s Guild of America (DGA) Theatre on Monday, August 30, 2010, at 7:00pm (PST)

This year’s event will be hosted by NAACP Image Awards nominated actress LisaRaye McCoy (UPN’s “All of Us”) and the honorees list includes Kenny Leon (Director and Broadway actor) for the Trailblazer Award, Mr. Wren T. Brown (American film, theatre, and television actor) for the Community Service Award, and Kim Sentovich (Sr. VP Pacific Region, on behalf of Wal-Mart) for the President’s Award, and special performance from Bobby Valentino (Capitol Records recording artist, NAACP Images and Soul Train Nominee). The Spirit Award and Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced at a later date.

Without further delay… we’d ike to Congratulate the 2010 NAACP Theatre Nominees:

Best Set Design—Equity

The First Wives Club—Peter J. Davidson Stormy Weather—James Noone Eclipsed—Sibyl Wickersheimer

Best Set Design—Local

Sticky Fly—John Lacovelli The River Niger—John Paul Luckenback Tree—Brian Sidney Bembridge

Best Sound—Equity

The First Wives Club—Jon Weston Baby It’s You!—Martin Carrillo Sammy—John H. Shivers and David Patridge

Best Sound—Local

Schoolhouse Rock Live Too!—Fionnegan Justus MurphyChicago Club Rumboogie—Lloyd Reese Blues for Central Ave—Christian Cook

Best Director—Equity

Sarafina! A Story of Liberation—Denise Dowse Eclipsed—Robert O’Hara Black Women—State of the Union—Nataki Garrett and Ayana Cahrr

Best Director—Local

Sticky Fly—Shirley Jo Finney Bronzeville—Ben Guillory Coming Home—Stephen Sachs

Best Playwright—Equity

Eclipsed—Danai Gurira Sarafina! A Story of Liberation—Mbongeni Mgema Sammy—Leslie Bricusse

Best Playwright—Local

Bronzeville—Timothy Toyama and Aaron Woolfolk Mutiny At Port Charles—Paul Leaf Someone’s Somebody—Regina Louise

Best Lead Male—Equity

The First Wives Club—Kevyn Morrow Sammy—Obba Babatubde The Cherry Orchard—Steven Matt

Best Lead Male—Local

Coming Home—Thomas Silcott The Caterer—Levar Burton Laws of Sympathy—Joshua Wolf Coleman

Best Choreographer—Equity

Sarafina! A Story of Liberation—Cassie Crump and Alfred Johnson Baby It’s You!—Brigitte Mutrux Sammy—Keith Young

Best Choreographer— Local

Schoolhouse Rock Live Too!—Rick Sparks Chicago Club Rumboogie—Chester Whitmore Howlin’ Blues and Dirty Dogs—Pysa Noel

Best Costumes—Equity

Monty Python’s Spamalot—Tim Hatley Ain’t Misbehavin—Randy Barcelo Crowns—Dana Rebecca Woods

Best Costumes—Local

Bonita & Billie—Kevin James Mutiny At Port Charles—Sarah Figoten Toni Morrison’s—The Bluest Eye—Maisie Klompus

Best Music Director—Equity

The First Wives Club—Ron Melrose Sarafina! A Story of Liberation – Stephan Terry

Sammy – Ian Fraser

Best Music Director— Local

Howlin’ Blues and Dirty Dogs – Barbara Morrison “WWWJD…What Would Jimi Do?” – Felicia D. Henderson Blues for Central Ave – Lou Briggs

Best Lighting— Equity

The First Wives Club – Mark McCullough Monty Python’s Spamalot – Hugh Vanstone Baby It’s You! – Howell Binkley

Best Lighting— Local

Bronzeville – Luke Moyer Mutiny At Port Charles – Rachel Fishman Toni Morrison’s – The Bluest Eye – Will Sammons

Best Director of a Musical— Equity

The First Wives Club – Francesca Zambello Sarafina! A Story of Liberation – Stephan Terry Sammy – Keith Glover

Best Director of a Musical— Local

Howlin’ Blues and Dirty Dogs – Carla Dufree Clark Bonita & Billie – Denise Dowse Chicago Club Rumboogie – Lloyd Reese

Best Supporting Female— Equity

Baby It’s You! – Erica Ash Baby It’s You! – Berlando Drake Sammy – Ann Duquesnay

Best Supporting Female— Local

Jitney – Shonni Albritton One Woman, Two Lives – Sharon Munfus Tree – Tessa Thompson

Best Supporting Male— Equity

The Cherry Orchard – Marc Ewing Stormy Weather – Phillip Attmore Stormy Weather – Cleavant Derricks

Best Supporting Male— Local

Coming Home – Matthew Elam Battle Hymn – Robert Manning, Jr. One Woman, Two Lives – Sammie Wayne

Best Lead Female— Equity

Monty Python’s Spamalot – Marle Dandridge Stormy Weather – Nikki Crawford Stormy Weather – Leslie Uggams

Best Lead Female— Local

Coming Home – Deidric Henry Tree – Sloan Robinson One Woman, Two Lives – Kellita Smith

Best Ensemble Cast— Equity

Sarafina! A story of Liberation Eclipsed Crowns

Best Ensemble Cast— Local

Stick Fly Bronzeville The River Niger

Best Producer— Equity

The First Wives Club – The Old Globe Eclipsed – Center Theatre Group Sammy – The Old Globe

Best Producer— Local

The River Niger – Robey theatre Company and Ben Guillory Coming Home – Simon Levy and Deborah Lawlor Toni Morrison’s – The Bluest Eye – Jack Rowe, Associate Dean (USC School of Theatre)

Best One Person Show

Someone’s Somebody – Regina Louise Manish Boy – Ralph Harris Did You Do Your Homework? – Aaron Braxton

If you’re in Los Angeles, please come out and support and honor thespians of color among the best in the field of entertainment, the Theatre! The award show and three-day festival provides a platform for thespians to express their craft and share their contributions with an audience of their peers, the community, and other individuals who crave live theatre in the ‘City of Angels’.

This year’s NAACP Theatre Awards festival will be at the NEW LATC theatre in Los Angeles on August 27-29, 2010. For more information regarding the 2010 Theatre Awards Festival and Award Show please visit www.bhwdnaacptheatreawards.com.