37th Annual Saturn Awards Wrap Up Report: 24 Video Interviews 300+ Photos

Fringe TV Show Saturn Award Winners

Fringe TV Show Saturn Award Winners

This was our 2nd year covering our favorite genre event, the Saturn Awards AKA the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films and this year’s event was filled with surprises like Mel Brooks and hopefully anticipated winners such as the TV show Fringe (who won) along with cast members John Noble and Anna Torv for best actors.

About the Saturn Awards: The Academy was founded in 1972 by noted film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed to honor and recognize genre entertainment.  Over the years, the Academy has expanded their reach to include other film genres.  The organization also recognizes excellence in television and home entertainment. Robert Holguin presently serves as President of the 39 year old organization.

Kristyn Burtt and Brandon Routh at the Saturn Awards Red Carpet

Kristyn Burtt and Brandon Routh at the Saturn Awards Red Carpet

On the red carpet we interviewed, Brandon Routh (“Superman Returns”), Sam Witwer (“Being Human”), Dylan O’Brien (MTV’s “Teen Wolf”), Vanessa Marano (ABC Family’s “Switched at Birth”), Thomas Jane (“LOL”, HBO’s “Hung”), Christopher Judge (“Stargate SG-1”), Doug Jones (“Pan’s Labyrinth”),  Lance Reddick (“Fringe”, “The Wire”), Kurtwood Smith(“Chaos”, “Cedar Rapids”), Michael Paré (“The Lincoln Lawyer”, “Gone”), Rosanna Arquette(“The Divide”), Mel Brooks(“Young Frankenstein”), French Stewart & Jamie Robledo (“Watson”),  Michael Biehn (Life Career Award), Rick Baker & Dave Elsey (“The Wolfman”), Claire Coffee (TNT’s “Franklin & Bash”),  Dana Melanie, Steven DeKnight (Exec. Prod. of “Spartacus: Gods of the Arena” for Lucy Lawless), John Noble (“Fringe”), Anna Torv (“Fringe”), Neil Marshall (The Centurion, Dog Soldiers), Dean Devlin (The Donald A. Reed Award), Andrew Clement (makeup designer: Grimm), we also spoke with comedian and MC for the event Jeffrey Ross. See all 24 interviews and scroll through our photos of the event on our Red Carpet Report channel by clicking here


The Dr. Donald A. Reed Award: Dean Devlin
The Visionary Award: Kevin Feige, President of Marvel Studios
The George Pal Memorial Award: Frank Darabont
The Life Career Award: Bert I. Gordon
The Life Career Award: Michel Biehn

Best Science Fiction Film: “Inception”
Best Fantasy Film: “Alice in Wonderland”
Best Horror/Thriller Film: “Let Me In”
Best Action/ Adventure Film: “Salt”

Best Actor: Jeff Bridges (“Tron: Legacy”)
Best Actress: Natalie Portman (“Black Swan”)
Best Supporting Actor: Andrew Garfield (“Never Let Me Go”)
Best Supporting Actress: Mila Kunis (“Black Swan”)
Best Performance by a Younger Actor: Chloë Grace Moretz (“Let Me In”)

Best Director: Christopher Nolan (“Inception”)
Best Writing: Christopher Nolan (Inception)

Best Music: Hans Zimmer (“Inception”)
Best Costume: Colleen Atwood (“Alice in Wonderland”)
Best Make-Up: Rick Baker, Dave Elsey (“The Wolfman”)
Best Production Design: Darren Gilford (“Tron: Legacy”)
Best Special Effects: Chris Corbould, Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Peter Begg (“Inception”)

Best International Film: “Monsters”
Best Animated Film: “Toy Story 3”

Best Network Series: “Fringe”
Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series: “Breaking Bad”
Best Television Presentation: “The Walking Dead”

Best Actor in Television: Stephen Moyer (“True Blood”)
Best Actress in Television: Anna Torv (“Fringe”)
Best Supporting Actor in Television: John Noble (“Fringe”)
Best Supporting Actress in Television: Lucy Lawless (“Spartacus: Gods of the Arena”)
Best Guest Starring Role in Television: Joe Manganiello (“True Blood”)

Best DVD Release: “Never Sleep Again: The Elm Street Legacy”
Best DVD Special Edition: “Avatar” (Extended Collector’s Edition)
Best DVD Classic Film Release: “The Complete Metropolis”
Best DVD Movie Collection: “Alien Anthology”
Best DVD Television Release: “The Twilight Zone” (Season 1 & 2) (Blu-Ray)

Best Local Stage Production, Musical: “Young Frankenstein” (Pantages Theatre)
Best Local Stage Production, Drama/Comedy: “The Lieutenant of Inishmore” (Mark Taper Forum)
Best Local Stage Production, Small Theatre: “Watson” (Sacred Fools Theatre)

We’d like to thank Melanie from M4PR.com for inviting us to come out and cover this event, great job Mel. We’re excited to also post up this year’s winners – congratulations to everyone! 

Remember you can see all of coverage here on Mingle Media TV’s Red Carpet Report channel by clicking here