Congratulations to the Nominees and Winners of the 42nd NAACP Image Awards

NAACP Image Awards

As we await the 42nd NAACP Image Awards show on FOX tonight (8:00-10:00 PM ET live/PT) we’re excited to say that we are looking forward to seeing legendary gospel singer Mavis Staples perform with the award-winning a cappella group Committed, broadcast live from Los Angeles’ historic Shrine Auditorium.

Christian R&B vocalist Deitrick Haddon and Contemporary Jazz instrumentalist Boney James will also be there and perform at the annual awards show.

Who will you see on tonight’s NAACP Award show? Expect to see the lovely actress Angela Bassett, NAACP Chairwoman Roslyn M. Brock, actress Loretta Devine, singer Jason Derülo, actress/singer Kat Graham, actor Dulé Hill, actor Anthony Mackie, Judge Greg Mathis, actresses Tia and Tamera Mowry, actress Sandra Oh, comedian Russell Peters and actress Anika Noni Rose along with Halle Berry, LL Cool J, Affion Crockett, Kimberly Elise, Kerry Washington and Vanessa Williams.

The show will be hosted by Wayne Brady and Holly Robinson Peete and executive-produced by Vicangelo Bulluck, the special celebrates the accomplishments of people of color working in literature, music, television and film including the Chairman’s Award recipient Surgeon General Regina M. Benjamin and President’s Award recipient General Colin L. Powell.

Event sponsors for the 42nd NAACP Image Awards include UAW/Chrysler, Walgreens, Wells Fargo, FedEx, Hyundai, Southwest Airlines, Anheuser-Busch, AT&T, Bank of America, Ford Motor Company, Pepsi and American Airlines.

Founded on Feb. 12, 1909, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is the nation’s oldest and largest civil rights organization. Its half-million adult and youth members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities, and monitor equal opportunity in the public and private sectors. For more information on the NAACP IMAGE AWARDS, please visit

42nd NAACP Image Awards – This Year’s Nominees

Presenters at the 42nd NAACP Awards Nominees Press Conference,

Presenters at the 42nd NAACP Awards Nominees Press Conference

Mingle Media TV was invited to attend the live announcement of the 42nd NAACP IMAGE AWARDS nominees from the Paley Center for Media in Beverly Hills, CA. In attendance were actresses Kimberly Elise and Sanaa Lathan, actor/rapper Curtis “50 Cent” Jackson, singer/songwriter Smokey Robinson, actor Columbus Short and Actor/Comedian Affion Crockett and NAACP IMAGE AWARDS chairman Clayola Brown and 42nd NAACP IMAGE AWARDS executive producer Vic Bulluck.

The 42nd NAACP IMAGE AWARDS celebrates the accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature and film. The awards also honor individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors during the two-hour eventairing live Friday, March 4 2011 (8:00-10:00 PM ET live/PT tape-delayed) on FOX.

42nd NAACP Image Awards

42nd NAACP Image Awards

Leaders in the Nomination Categories

ABC and NBC lead the nominees in the TV categories, each with 18 nominations, followed by CBS and Lifetime Movie Network both with 10.  In the recording category, Columbia Records leads with seven nominations, followed by J Records and Island Def Jam Music Group both with six and Epic Records with 5 nominations. Lionsgate/34th Street Films leads with seven nominations, while Fox Searchlight followed with six, and Magnolia Pictures with five in the motion picture category.

In case you’re wondering about the Television Nominees – here’s the list by category:

Outstanding Comedy Series

·       “30 Rock” (NBC)

·       “Are We There Yet?” (TBS)

·       “Glee” (FOX)

·       “Modern Family” (ABC)

·       “Tyler Perry’s House of Payne” (TBS)

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series

·       David Mann – “Tyler Perry’s Meet the Browns” (TBS)

·       Dulé Hill – “Psych” (USA)

·       LaVan Davis – “Tyler Perry’s House of Payne” (TBS)

·       Phil Morris – “Love That Girl!” (TV One)

·       Terry Crews – “Are We There Yet?” (TBS)

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series

·       Cassi Davis – “Tyler Perry’s House of Payne” (TBS)

·       Essence Atkins – “Are We There Yet?” (TBS)

·       Salli Richardson-Whitfield – “Eureka” (Syfy)

·       Tatyana Ali – “Love That Girl!” (TV One)

·       Vanessa Williams – “Desperate Housewives” (ABC)

Outstanding Drama Series

·       “Detroit 1-8-7” (ABC)

·       “Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)

·       “HawthoRNe” (TNT)

·       “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” (NBC)

·       “Treme” (HBO)

Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series

·       Anthony Anderson – “Law & Order” (NBC)

·       Blair Underwood – “The Event” (NBC)

·       Hill Harper – “CSI: NY” (CBS)

·       Laurence Fishburne – “CSI: Crime Scene Investigation” (CBS)

·       LL Cool J – “NCIS: Los Angeles ” (CBS)

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series

·       Chandra Wilson – “Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)

·       GuGu Mbatha-Raw – “Undercovers” (NBC)

·       Jada Pinkett Smith – “HawthoRNe” (TNT)

·       Regina King – “Southland” (TNT)

·       Wendy Davis – “Army Wives” (Lifetime)

Outstanding Talk (Series)

·       “Conversations with Ed Gordon” (BET Networks)

·       “Larry King Live” (CNN)

·       “The Mo’Nique Show” (BET Networks)

·       “The View” (ABC)

·       “TV One on One with Cathy Hughes” (TV One)

Outstanding Reality Series

·       “American Idol” (FOX)

·       “America’s Next Top Model” (The CW)

·       “Dancing with the Stars” (ABC)

·       “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition” (ABC)

·       “Sunday Best” (BET Networks)


Smokey Robinson and Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson at the 42nd NAACP Image Awards Nomination

Smokey Robinson and Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson at the 42nd NAACP Image Awards Nomination

Please visit the NAACP website at for the complete listing of nominees for this year’s awards. For photos of the event, please check out Mingle Media TV Network and our Red Carpet Report for this and other celebrity events.